All-Old Dominion Athletic Conference accolades for Guy, Allen

All-Old Dominion Athletic Conference accolades for Guy, Allen

VIRGINIA BEACH -- Standout senior seasons for Kala Guy and Taylor Allen were rewarded with All-Old Dominion Athletic Conference honors for both student-athletes.

While Allen was named to the All-ODAC second team, Guy picked up her third consecutive first team honor.  She is the first volleyball player in VWC program history to be named to the top team three times.

Guy (Fishersville/Wilson Memorial), a 5-foot-8 outside hitter, played and started in all 31 VWC matches this season.  She ranked No. 2 in the ODAC in kills per game set (3.68), recording a team high 416 kills overall.  Guy led the Marlins with 1,102 total attacks and  310 digs, ranked No.2 with 42 aces, and was third with 44 total blocks.  She set a VWC single-match record with 27 kills against North Carolina Wesleyan College.

Allen (Bowie, Md./Bladensburg Elizabeth Seton), a 5-10 middle hitter, ranked No. 5 in the ODAC in hitting percentage with a .321 mark, the second best single-season effort in VWC history.  She also ranked fifth in the league in blocks per set (0.74) and ranked No. 3 with 84 total blocks overall.  Allen recorded 303 kills and ranked third for the Marlins with 33 aces.  She led the team in block solos (19), block assists (65) and total blocks (84).

Allen finished her VWC career ranked No. 1 in block assists (226), No. 3 in solos (67) and No. 2 in total blocks (293).

Senior Kerry Johnson (Richmond/J.R. Tucker) finished the season ranked No. 2 in the ODAC in aces per set (0.56) and led the league in total aces with 63.  Sophomore Mallory Slade (Burlington, N.C./Eastern Alamance) finished No. 2 in the league in assists with 8.28 per set.  She recorded 845 assists overall.

Virginia Wesleyan compiled an 8-3 league mark, tying the most conference wins by a Marlins team, and finished 19-12 record overall, the ninth winning season in the program's 10-year history.

Player of the Year:
Mallory Carter, Sr., OH, Randolph-Macon
Coach of the Year: Bill Rogers, Randolph-Macon
Rookie of the Year: Anna Lausberg, Fr., OH, Washington and Lee
ODAC/Farm Bureau Insurance Scholar-Athlete: Jessica Sears, Sr., OH, Randolph-Macon

Jamie Cockerham Sr. Outside Hitter Emory & Henry
Aricquel Payne So. Outside Hitter Lynchburg
Mallory Carter Sr. Outside Hitter Randolph-Macon
Marli Dabareiner Jr. Libero Randolph-Macon
Tori Puryear Jr. Middle Hitter Randolph-Macon
Kala Guy Sr. Outside Hitter Virginia Wesleyan
M.A. Boles Jr. Outside Hitter Washington and Lee
Katie Long Jr. Outside Hitter Bridgewater
Casey O'Leary Sr. Libero Bridgewater
Rebecca Loftis Sr. Middle Hitter Lynchburg
Jessica Sears Sr. Outside Hitter Randolph-Macon
Taylor Allen Sr. Middle Hitter Virginia Wesleyan
Anna Lausberg Fr. Outside Hitter Washington and Lee
Meghan Meleski Jr. Setter Washington and Lee
Megann Grimes So. Middle Hitter Bridgewater
Lindsay Kallam Jr. Setter Bridgewater
Nicole Tesh Jr. Middle Hitter Emory & Henry
Kelly Mae Kerlin Jr. Libero Emory & Henry
Taylor Whitley Jr. Setter Guilford
Courtney Lowers Fr. Outside Hitter Randolph-Macon
Bailey Troia So. Setter Randolph-Macon