Marlin trio earns All-Old Dominion Athletic Conference honors

Marlin trio earns All-Old Dominion Athletic Conference honors

VIRGINIA BEACH -- Senior Amelia Goebel and juniors Taylor Lober and Jillian Gorman have all earned 2012 All-Old Dominion Athletic Conference honors.

While Goebel (Virginia Beach/Mercersburg Academy, Pa.) and Lober (Wilmington, Del./Concord) were both named to the All-ODAC second team, Gorman (Nassawadox/Eastville Northampton) was selected as a third team honoree.  It is the first all-conference accolade for Goebel and Gorman, and the third for Lober.  She becomes just the fourth VWC field hockey player to earn three-time All-ODAC honors and she is the first since Holley Marchwicki (2004-05-06).

Goebel and Lober helped spark the Virginia Wesleyan offense throughout the season, not only by scoring goals, but also by setting up plays as the Marlins advanced toward the cage.  Lober finished at the team's second leading scorer with three goals and two assists and Goebel tied for third with two goals and two assists.  Lober an Goebel scored both goals in VWC's 2-1 victory over Frostburg State University.

Gorman contributed to the team consistently as a defensive leader with her scrappy play and ability to get to the ball to thwart opponents' drives. 

Virginia Wesleyan finished the season with a 3-12 record, which included six one-goal losses.  The Marlins dropped three consecutive 2-1 decisions late in October, including a double-overtime battle at Randolph-Macon College.

ODAC Player of the Year: Shelly Milks, Sr., M, Lynchburg
ODAC Coach of the Year: Kim Iman-Bianchi, Shenandoah
ODAC Rookie of the Year: Alexandra Darrow, Fr., A/M, Shenandoah
ODAC/Farm Bureau Insurance Scholar-Athlete: Shelly Milks, Sr., M, Lynchburg 

Player Class Pos. School
Caroline Augsberger So. M Bridgewater
Joan Burleson Sr. M Bridgewater
Carrie Jacobs So. D Randolph-Macon
Lindsay Leonard Sr. M Lynchburg
Nicole Marburger Jr. D Lynchburg
Shelly Milks Sr. M Lynchburg
Adriana Santiago Sr. M Eastern Mennonite
Lauren Seal Jr. A Randolph-Macon
Victoria Van Natten Jr. M Washington and Lee
Amber VanHorn Sr. D Shenandoah
Nicole Woodworth Sr. GK Randolph-Macon
Alexandra Darrow Fr. A Shenandoah
Kelly Finn Jr. A Roanoke
Amelia Goebel Sr. M Virginia Wesleyan
Riley Hampsch Jr. D Washington and Lee
Bethany Hench So. D Eastern Mennonite
Taylor Lober Jr. M Virginia Wesleyan
Eve Mergenthaler Fr. D Sweet Briar
Olivia Newman Jr. D Randolph-Macon
Taylor Prillaman Fr. A Bridgewater
Darian Shuker So. GK Roanoke
Melanie Tenney Jr. D Lynchburg
Stacey Bechtel So. D Roanoke
Jessica Blanks Jr. M Eastern Mennonite
Julienne Brown Sr. A Roanoke
Jenessa Derstine So. A Eastern Mennonite
Colleen Dickson Jr. A Bridgewater
Rachel Gardner So. A Randolph-Macon
Courtney Gillette Fr. D Lynchburg
Jillian Gorman Jr. M Virginia Wesleyan
Katie Kline So. M Lynchburg
Kirsten Kyne Sr. GK Washington and Lee
Rachael Loy Fr. M Bridgewater
Claire Townsley Fr. A Washington and Lee
Kelli Williams Jr. M Lynchburg