13 Josh Miller
13 Josh Miller
Height: 6-0
Weight: 195
Year: SR
Hometown: Norfolk
High School: Chesapeake Greenbrier Christian
Position: IF
Major: Sociology
  • "I made Virginia Wesleyan my top choice because Coache Boothe (Nick) was a large influence in my decision, as well as the location of the school.  It's near my family and they could come support the program"
  • Selected VWC over University of Virginia at Wise, Rutgers University at Camden and Ferrum College

VWC Career Statistics

Year GP GS BA AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI SB PO A
2010 37 37 .291 127 24 37 5 0 0 20 3x4 28 76
2011 33 33 .264 125 17 33 4 0 0 15 7x7 25 74
2012 33 33 .331 121 18 40 4 2 0 19 2x5 61 87

Collegiate Accomplishments

  • Posted a 4.00 GPA Winter '11

Prep Accolades

  • Competed in baseball, football and basketball in high school
  • Helped guide Greenbrier Christian to state championships as a junior and senior
  • Hit for a .475 average as a senior
  • Second team All-Virginia as a senior
  • Academic All-Virginia first team as a senior
  • Greenbrier Christian's Male Athlete of the Year as a senior

Personal

  • Son of  Lisa and Craig Miller; mom attended Tidewater Community College
  • Has three brothers: Jesse, Jamie and Jackson
  • Enjoys all types of music
  • Favorites include The Bible and the movie "Tommy Boy"
  • A fan of baseball's Boston Red Sox and Derek Jeter
  • Self-description in 10 words or less: "don't take myself too seriously, love to have fun"
  • My favorite aspect of being an athlete is: "competition"
  • The part of my game I've improve the most is: "hitting"
  • My personal athletic goal at VWC is: "to win an ODAC (Old Dominion Athletic Conference) championship and compete in regionals and nationals"
  • My favorite uniform number is: "three. It has a lot of meanings, spiritual and how many famous players have played with the same number on their back."
  • If I could spend one day with a famous person from any time period it would be: "Ted Williams, to talk about the game of baseball and what he learned during his time in the game"
  • People might be surprised to know: "I play the guitar in my free time"
  • It's the year 2025 and: "I'm married, have children, and I'm living in the Hampton Roads area"
  • The most important advice I've received is: "be humbe, work hard and lead by example"